Adding Content Using the Upload and Manage Files Page

If you are hosting content on Apple servers, use the Upload and Manage Files page to manually upload content to groups in a Course page .

To manually upload content to your iTunes U site using the Upload and Manage Files page:

  1. Log in to iTunes U as the site administrator or another user with upload permissions.

  2. Navigate to the Course page where you want to add content.

  3. Click Upload And Manage Files in the Tools area.

    The Upload and Manage Files page appears in your default web browser so you can select the files to upload as well as the location where you want to upload the files.

  4. Click a tab to indicate the group where you want to upload files.

  5. Click Add New File, and then select the file you want to add.

    iTunes U displays a status indicator and begins uploading the file you selected. To cancel the upload, click the Cancel icon.

    • Repeat this step for each file you want to add to the group.

  6. Repeat steps 4 and 5 for each group in the selected Course page.

  7. Move, reorder, replace, or delete files, or edit metadata or advisory labels for files you previously added:

    • To move a file to another group, click the tab for the group where the file currently exists, select the file’s checkbox, choose Move Selected Files To from the Choose Action pop-up menu, and then choose the destination group from the pop-up menu.

    • To reorder files within a group, click the tab for the group where you want to reorder files, and then click the file’s Up or Down Triangle icon to move the file up or down one position in the list.

      Track ordering within a group is based on the current Course page track list sort order. To see the tracks in a Course page group in the same order specified in the Upload and Manage Files page, you must sort the track list in the Course page group in ascending order using the Track Number column.

    • To replace a file, click the tab for the group where the file currently exists, click the Replace icon for the file you want to replace, and then select the new file. iTunes U displays a status indicator and begins uploading the file you selected. To cancel the upload, click the Cancel icon. Replacing a file rather than deleting and uploading a new file is important if you want to save previously defined bookmarks and iTunes U popularity index entries associated with a file.

    • To delete a file, click the tab for the group where the file currently exists, and then click the file’s Delete icon. To delete multiple files at once, select the files’ checkboxes, and then choose Delete Files from the Choose Action pop-up menu.

    • To edit file metadata , click the file’s Edit icon, type a new file Name or Artist, and then click the Save icon to save your metadata changes.

    • To edit a file’s advisory label, click the tab for the group where the file currently exists, select the file’s checkbox, choose “Advisory Label for Files” from the Choose Action pop-up menu, and then choose an advisory label for the file.

      • Unset . Indicates that the file’s explicitness is unknown. iTunes U does not apply an advisory settings to the file.

      • Do Not Mark . Indicates that the file’s content is not explicit. iTunes U applies the setting, but does not display an advisory graphic for the file. Apple recommends that you choose Do Not Mark when a file is not explicit but should not have the Clean icon advisory graphic because the file does not contain an alternate version of content from an explicit file (Mark Explicit). Choose Do Not Mark to implicitly indicate a file is clean.

      • Mark Explicit . Indicates that the file is known to contain explicit content and you want iTunes U to apply an “explicit” setting to the file. iTunes U applies the setting and displays the Explicit icon advisory graphic for the file.

      • Mark Clean . Indicates that the file is known to be free of explicit content and you want iTunes U to apply a “clean” setting to the file. iTunes U applies the setting and displays the Clean icon advisory graphic for the file. Apple recommends that you choose Mark Clean only if the file contains an alternate version of content from an explicit file (Mark Explicit).

      iTunes U applies the advisory label setting to the file and displays an advisory graphic for the file. To set an advisory label for an entire group, edit the group within the Course page. For more information, see “Creating Group Types.”

  8. Click Done.

    iTunes U displays the new content in the Course page groups and updates track or podcast information (for example, the number of tracks per group) and controls.

  9. Click Logout.

Notes: